Today is the day that Facebook will let 87 million users know that their data was improperly shared with the firm Cambridge Analytica. The company was connected to the Trump campaign and used the data to target people during the 2016 Presidential Election.
Photo by: Getty Images
Facebook has announced it will inform users if their data was wrongly shared with political data firm Cambridge Analytica.
Starting Monday, the social media giant will show a "protecting your information" link at the top of each user's news feed. Following that link, users will be directed to a section where they can see which apps and websites they have used Facebook to log into, and remove any they no longer want connected to their account.
Above the link, users who may have been affected by the data scandal will see the message: "We have banned the website 'This Is Your Digital Life,' which one of your friends used Facebook to log into. We did this because the website may have misused some of your Facebook information by sharing it with a company called Cambridge Analytica."